EcoGen 2010, Australia’s pre-eminent clean energy event, proved an outstanding success with over 1,000 clean energy leaders in attendance.

The industry’s brightest minds gathered at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre to discover the latest in clean energy technology and solutions at the exhibition, and attend presentations delivered by world-leading clean energy experts.

Attendees took every opportunity to ask questions of the expert speakers, creating a unique environment where policy makers, business owners and technology developers could engage in open and fruitful discussion.

EcoGen 2010 received widespread media coverage, with the event being reported in local media such as The Australian Financial Review and as far afield as The San Francisco Chronicle.

While there were many exciting moments at EcoGen 2010, including the presentation of the EcoGen 2010 Clean Energy Awards at the Gala Dinner, perhaps the most exciting was when Greens Senator Christine Milne and Shadow Minister for Climate Action, Environment and Heritage Greg Hunt gave back to back presentations on the second morning of the conference.

Just hours before the newly re-elected Federal Labor Government was announced, Senator Milne and Shadow Minister Hunt both took to the podium and spoke about their respective clean energy policies and what they planned to implement should the die be cast in their favour. Senator Milne’s call to action for the clean energy industry to unite in order to pave a way forward was particularly well received by those in attendance.

It was during a later session on remote and distributed generation, chaired by Julie Heath, Energy, Sustainability and Market Developer with Ergon Energy, that news of Australia finally securing a Government came through.

EcoGen 2010 wrapped up on 7 September with a day of fascinating presentations on solar, wind, geothermal and water generated energy, as well as discussions on bioenergy, hydrogen energy and energy efficiency.

Speakers on the final day included Muriel Watt, Chair of the Australian Photovoltaic Association, Graham White, Managing Director of Garrad Hassan, Susan Jeanes, CEO of the Australian Geothermal Energy Association, Dr Tim Finnigan, CEO of BioPower Systems, Dr Steven Schuck, Manager of Bioenegy Australia and Dr David Rand, CEO of the Australian Association for Hydrogen Energy.

Source: EcoGeneration.