Gravity should be considered as a source of energy in all your planning. Gravity is actually a more reliable and constant source of energy than the wind or the sun. Gravity, without fail, is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and you can save a lot of energy by planning to use gravity as a source of energy in some of your green installations.

One of the things that I like about my property is that I have a hill on it. I’ve carefully planned to use the hill to take advantage of the difference in elevation from one end of my property to the other.

My house is being constructed on almost the highest point of the property and that means that any rainwater I’m able to harvest off the house roof will be easily dispersible to the rest of the property without having to use a gas or electricity powered pump to do it.

Since my house will be situated on the hill, I’ll also be able to recycle the grey water the household produces without having to use pumps to move it around to where I can use it. With some careful planning and a close look at the elevation differences I’ll be able to run my grey water through a sand filter and disperse it to my trees and plants without the use of a pump.

My shed is on one of the lowest points of my property so it takes a bit more thought to be able to utilize gravity with the harvested water from the shed roof. My rain-water storage needs to be raised up so that I can use gravity to disperse it.

If you don’t have a hill or high point that’s suitable for your needs you can make a frame to set your rain-barrels on. If you’re planning to catch a considerable amount of water you can also use brick or cement blocks to create a strong raised area that will be a lot more safe for larger and heavier amounts of water.

You might not always be able to use gravity to do work for you, but if you put some thought into your project it’ll save you some energy if you use it where you can.

Source: Being Green Online.

